Citing Sources - APA 7th Edition

General Format

Last name, First initial, Last name, First initial, & Last name, First initial. (year of publication). Title of article. Journal Title, Volume(Issue), ###–###. DOI

Examples

Journal article by three or more authors from an online database with DOI 

• No period is needed at the end of the DOI. Journal Title, Volume are italicized.

Bruce, J. S., De La Cruz, M. M., Lundberg, K., Vesom, N., Aguayo, J., & Merrell, S. B. (2019). Combating Child Summer Food Insecurity:

Examination of a Community-Based Mobile Meal Program. Journal of Community Health, 44(5), 1009–1018. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10900-019-00675-0

Report in an online database

• Make sure to add In before the Journal Title to denote reviewed from an online database.

Higuchi, D., & Echigo, A. (2023). Clinical education-related stressors and emotional states during clinical education among physical

therapy students. In Physiotherapy Theory & Practice, 39(2) 405–413. https://doi.org/10.1080/09593985.2021.2017091

Magazine article (print source)

Chandrasekaran, L. (2021). A physicist is unraveling knitting’s math secrets. Science News, 199(4), 4.

General Format

Last name, First Initial. (year of publication). Title of webpage. Website Title. URL

Examples

AI prompt/output

• Name of AI as the author. (Current year). Name of tool (month day version) [Large language model]. URL

OpenAI. (2024). ChatGPT (Oct 14 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/chat

Webpage with no author 

• Title of specific document on webpage. (Last update or copyright date; if not known, put n.d.) Title of website. URL

  • Notice how the website is the title that is italicized and not the webpage.

Santiago Canyon College Library. (n.d.). Services. Santiago Canyon College. https://www.sccollege.edu/campus/library/SitePages/Services.aspx

YouTube video clip with name of person/organization that posted or uploaded the video

• Author Last Name, First Initial. (Year, Month Day). Title of the video. YouTube. URL

Duberg, A. (2023, October 24). How We Can Dance Our Way to Better Mental Health. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0R_0n41y90

Map or chart (born digital)

• Author or Organization. (Year). Title of the map or chart [Description]. URL

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. (2023). U.S. sea level rise and coastal flooding impacts [Map]. https://www.noaa.gov/sea-level-rise-map

General Format

Author(s). “Chapter/Selection Title.” [in quotation marks] [if using a part of the book] Book Title. [in italics] Author/editor of book, Vol. no., Publisher, Year of Publication, pp. page numbers. [if using a part of the book] Name of the eBook database, [for online source] DOI, permalink URL or Web address. [for online source] Accessed Date. [Day Mon Year] [for online source]

Examples

Print book with two authors

Kahrl, Fredrich, and David Roland-Holst. Climate Change in California: Risk and Response. U of California P, 2012.

E-book from an online database with more than two authors

O'Brien, Karen L., et al. Adapting to Climate Change: Thresholds, Values, Governance. Cambridge UP, 2009. EBSCO eBook Collection, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=286489&site=ehost-live. Accessed 18 May 2017.

Selection from an encyclopedia in an online database 

Coulson, Martin. "Sustainability." Encyclopedia of Environmental Change, edited by John A. Matthews, vol. 3, SAGE Reference, 2014, pp. 1068-69. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=oran78789&v=2.1&id=GALE%7CCX6105103787&it=r&asid=f441f6c1 b0290a9999e2bfdfdec41004. Accessed 6 Apr. 2017.

1. Insert a blank page at the end of your paper.
   • Tip: if you use Insert > Pages > Blank Page to do this, rather than hitting "enter" until your cursor is on a new page, your cited works will remain on their own page at the end of your document - even if you add or remove text from the body of your essay later.
2. Center the word "References" at the top of the document.
   • If you are only citing one work, type "Reference" instead.
3. List citations alphabetically by the first word of the citation (ignore a, an, or the).
4. Format your citations to be double-spaced.
5. Format your citations with a hanging indent by selecting the text, then going to Paragraph > Indents and Spacing > Indentation > Special > Hanging. 

• Tip: if you enter the bibliographic information of your cited works into NoodleTools, you can export an automatically-created and correctly-formatted References page. What's NoodleTools, you ask? Read on!