Getting Started - ENGL 102 - Sara Gonzalez / Fall 2025 - LibGuides at Santiago Canyon College

Welcome

This guide will help you find scholarly secondary sources for your character analysis essay. You need 1-3 sources from the SCC library databases (no Google searches!) to support your analysis of a character from Trifles, Water by the Spoonful, Shadow of a Man, or another approved play.

Assignment

📋 Assignment Requirements (Click to expand)

4-6 pages analyzing one character from an assigned play
1-3 secondary sources from library databases (no Google searches allowed!)
Sources can be about: the play, the playwright, characterization techniques, literary criticism/theory, or themes
Start with literary databases (see Articles tab)
Written in 3rd person, MLA format
Must analyze how the character reveals meaning about the play's themes

Plays to choose from:

Trifles by Susan Glaspell
Water by the Spoonful by Quiara Alegría Hudes
Shadow of a Man by Cherríe Moraga
Or another play approved by Sara

📅 Key Dates

Library Workshop: Thursday, October 9, 2025
First Draft Due: Thursday, October 16, 2025 (at least 2 pages, bring to class for peer review)
Final Draft Due: Tuesday, October 28, 2025

What Kind of Sources Do I Need?

For this essay, you need scholarly secondary sources that help you analyze your character. Good sources include:

Articles analyzing the specific play (themes, characters, symbolism)
Articles about the playwright (their style, recurring themes, biographical context)
Articles about characterization techniques in drama/theater
Literary criticism or theory articles (feminist criticism, identity theory, etc.)

Start Your Research Here

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Best starting point! Includes biographical information on authors, critical essays on plays, and literary analysis. Search for your play title, playwright name, or themes.
JSTOR
Scholarly journal articles in literature, theater, and cultural studies. Excellent for in-depth literary criticism and analysis of plays.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Multidisciplinary database good for broader thematic searches (feminist theater, family dynamics in drama, cultural identity, etc.)
MasterFile Complete (EBSCOhost)
Another multidisciplinary option. Includes articles on literature, theater, and the humanities.

Or, try OneSearch - it includes multiple databases at once, and is good for casting a wide net if you're not finding enough in one database.

Pre- Post-Surveys

Workshop Surveys

Help us improve our workshops by taking a brief survey before and after completing them. Your feedback is valuable and helps us create better learning experiences for all students.

Before You Start

Take this survey before beginning the workshop

Pre-Workshop Survey

After You Complete

Take this survey after finishing the workshop

Post-Workshop Survey

Surveys open in a new window and take approximately 3-5 minutes to complete