Comics Beyond the Page in Latin America by James Scorer (Editor)Comics Beyond the Page in Latin America is a cutting-edge study of the expanding worlds of Latin American comics. Despite lack of funding and institutional support, not since the mid-twentieth century have comics in the region been so dynamic, so diverse and so engaged with pressing social and cultural issues. Comics are being used as essential tools in debates about digital cultures, gender identities, and political disenfranchisement, as well as a whole range of other social issues. Rather than analyzing the current boom in comics by focusing just on the printed text, however, this book looks at diverse manifestations of comics 'beyond the page'. Contributors look at digital comics and social media networks; comics as graffiti and stencil art in public spaces; comics as a tool for teaching architecture or processing social trauma; and comics consumption and publishing as forms of shaping national, social, and political identities.
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 1787357562
Publication Date: 2020
A Latin American Existentialist Ethos: Modern Mexican Literature and Philosophy by Stephanie MerrimWith their emphasis on freedom and engagement, European existentialisms offered Latin Americans transformative frameworks for thinking and writing about their own locales. In taking up these frameworks, Latin Americans endowed them with a distinctive ethos, a turn towards questions of identity and ethics. Stephanie Merrim situates major literary and philosophical works--by the existentialist Grupo Hiperión, Rosario Castellanos, Octavio Paz, José Revueltas, Juan Rulfo, and Rodolfo Usigli--within this dynamic context. Collectively, their writings manifest an existentialist ethos attuned to the matters most alive and pressing in their specific situations--matters linked to gender, Indigeneity, the Mexican Revolution, and post-Revolution politics. That each of these writers orchestrates a unique center of gravity renders Mexican existentialist literature an always shifting, always passionate adventure. A Latin American Existentialist Ethos takes readers on this adventure, conveying the passions of its subjects lucidly and vibrantly. It is at once a detailed portrait of twentieth-century Mexican existentialism and an expansive look at Latin American literary existentialism in relation--and opposition--to its European counterparts.
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 1438493193
Publication Date: 2023
The Social and Political Life of Latin American Infrastructures by Jonathan Alderman (Editor); Geoff Goodwin (Editor)Understanding Latin American identity, history, and politics through its infrastructure and architecture. From roads, railways, statues, and bridges, infrastructure provides a unique lens through which to view our own national histories and societies. Serving as an important conduit between individuals and the state, infrastructure can help mediate citizenship, reshape social relations between people both within and across communities, and has the capacity to underpin--or indeed, undermine--nation-building. Over the last century, infrastructure has transformed Latin America. Roads, railways, and airports have increased connectivity between spaces, peoples, and markets. Cables, switches, and tunnels have connected households to electricity grids, water systems, and digital technology. Public buildings, parks, and monuments have reshaped towns and cities and emerged as sites to construct and contest citizenship. Infrastructure has been welcomed and celebrated in Latin America, but it has also been resisted and destroyed. Based on recent, original research, the essays in this collection cover a range of pressing infrastructural considerations, including sustainability, water conflict, extractive mining, and public housing in Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Colombia, Ecuador, and Mexico to better understand how infrastructure has reshaped Latin America over the past century.
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 1908857951
Publication Date: 2022
New World Objects of Knowledge: A Cabinet of Curiosities (Institute of Latin American Studies) by Mark Thurner (Editor); Juan Pimentel (Editor)A stunning, richly illustrated hardback cataloging key artifacts from across Latin American art, nature, and history. From the late fifteenth century to the present day, countless explorers, conquerors, and other agents of empire have laid siege to the New World, plundering and pilfering its most precious artifacts and treasures. Today, these natural and cultural products--which are key to conceptualizing a history of Latin America--are scattered in museums around the world. With contributions from a renowned set of scholars, New World Objects of Knowledge delves into the hidden histories of forty of the New World's most iconic artifacts, from the Inca mummy to Darwin's hummingbirds. This volume is richly illustrated with photos and sketches from the archives and museums hosting these objects. Each artifact is accompanied by a comprehensive essay covering its dynamic, often global, history and itinerary. This volume will be an indispensable catalog of New World objects and how they have helped shape our modern world.
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781908857828
Publication Date: 2021
Cultures of Anti-Racism in Latin America and the Caribbean by Peter Wade (Editor); James Scorer (Editor); Ignacio Aguiló (Editor)Latin America's long history of showing how racism can co-exist with racial mixture and conviviality offers useful ammunition for strengthening anti-racist stances. This volume asks whether cultural production has a particular role to play within discourses and practices of anti-racism in Latin America and the Caribbean. The contributors analyse music, performance, education, language, film and art in diverse national contexts across the region. The book also places Latin American and Caribbean racial formations within a broader global context and sets out the premise that the region provides valuable opportunities for thinking about anti-racism when recent political events have made ever more fragile the claims that, at least in Europe and the United States, we exist in a 'post-racial' world.
ISBN: 1908857552
Publication Date: 2020
Print Books
Latin America in the Modern World by Virginia Garrard; Peter Henderson; Bryan McCannLatin America in the Modern World is the first text to situate the history of Latin America within a wider global narrative. Written by leading scholars, the book focuses on five themes: state formation; the construction of national identity through popular culture and religion; economics andcommodities; race, class, and gender; and the environment. Emphasizing the distinct experiences of each of the Latin American countries, the book provides students with an entry point into understanding this vital region. Instead of suggesting that all Latin American nations have an interchangeableheritage, the authors seek to clearly identify themes, topics, people, and intellectual currents that help to knit the history of modern Latin America into a coherent category of study. While providing in-depth coverage of the history of the three largest Latin American countries (Mexico, Brazil,and Argentina), Latin America in the Modern World also offers case studies from almost all of the countries, including Central American and Andean nations.
ISBN: 0197574084
Publication Date: 2022
Sandinistas: A Moral History by Robert J. SierakowskiRobert J. Sierakowski's Sandinistas: A Moral History offers a bold new perspective on the liberation movement that brought the Sandinista National Liberation Front to power in Nicaragua in 1979, overthrowing the longest-running dictatorship in Latin America. Unique sources, from trial transcripts to archival collections and oral histories, offer a new vantage point beyond geopolitics and ideologies to understand the central role that was played by everyday Nicaraguans. Focusing on the country's rural north, Sierakowski explores how a diverse coalition of labor unionists, student activists, housewives, and peasants inspired by Catholic liberation theology came to successfully challenge the legitimacy of the Somoza dictatorship and its entrenched networks of power. Mobilizing communities against the ubiquitous cantinas, gambling halls, and brothels, grassroots organizers exposed the regime's complicity in promoting social ills, disorder, and quotidian violence while helping to construct radical new visions of moral uplift and social renewal. Sierakowski similarly recasts our understanding of the Nicaraguan National Guard, grounding his study of the Somozas' army in the social and cultural world of the ordinary soldiers who enlisted and fought in defense of the dictatorship. As the military responded to growing opposition with heightened state terror and human rights violations, repression culminated in widespread civilian massacres, stories that are unearthed for the first time in this work. These atrocities further exposed the regime's moral breakdown in the eyes of the public, pushing thousands of previously unaligned Nicaraguans into the ranks of the guerrilla insurgency by the late 1970s. Sierakowski's innovative reinterpretation of the Sandinista Revolution will be of interest to students, scholars, and activists concerned with Latin American social movements, the Cold War, and human rights.
ISBN: 0268106894
Publication Date: 2019
The Oxford Handbook of Gabriel García Márquez by Gene H. Bell-Villada (Editor); Ignacio López-Calvo (Editor)From the epic saga of the Buendia family in One Hundred Years of Solitude to the enduring passion of Love in the Time of Cholera to the exploration of tyranny in The Autumn of the Patriarch, Gabriel Garcia Marquez has built a literary world that continues to captivate millions of readersacross the world. His writings entrance modern audiences with their dreamlike yet trenchant insights into universal issues of the human condition such as love, revenge, old age, death, fate, power, and justice. A Nobel Laureate in 1982, he contributed to the global popularity of the Latin AmericanBoom during the second half of the 20th century and had a profound impact on writers worldwide, including Toni Morrison, Salman Rushdie, and Haruki Murakami. The Oxford Handbook of Gabriel Garcia Marquez brings together world experts on the Colombian writer to present a comprehensiveEnglish-language examination of his life, oeuvre, and legacy - the first such work since his death in 2014.Edited by Latin American literature authorities Gene H. Bell-Villada and Ignacio Lopez-Calvo, the volume paints a rich and nuanced portrait of "Gabo." It incorporates ongoing critical approaches such as feminism, ecocriticism, Marxism, and ethnic studies, while elucidating key aspects of his work,such as his Caribbean-Colombian background; his use of magical realism, myth, and folklore; and his left-wing political views. Thirty-two wide-ranging chapters cover the bulk of the author's writings-both major and minor, early and late, long and short-as well as his involvement with film. They alsodiscuss his unique prose style, highlighting how music shaped his literary art. The Handbook gives unprecedented attention to the global influence of Garcia Marquez-on established canons, on the Global South, on imaginative writing in South Asia, China, Japan, and throughout Africa and the Arabworld. This is the first book that places the Colombian writer within that wider context, celebrating his importance both as a Latin American author and as a global phenomenon.
ISBN: 0190067160
Publication Date: 2021
California: An American History by John Mack FaragherA concise and lively history of California, the most multicultural state in the nation "A masterful history."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Faragher takes the reader on a captivating journey through myriad twists and turns of California's multicultural history, enlivened by stories of people who rarely penetrate our traditional state chronicles."--Carlos E. Cortés, University of California, Riverside California is the most multicultural state in America. As John Mack Faragher explains in this new history, California's natural variety has always supported such diversity, including Native peoples speaking dozens of distinct languages, Spanish and Mexican colonists, gold seekers from all corners of the globe, and successive migrant waves from the eastern United States and from Europe, Latin America, Asia, and the Pacific Islands. Faragher tells the stories of a colorful cast of characters--some famous, others mostly unknown--including African American Archy Lee, who sued for his freedom; Sinkyone Indian woman Sally Bell, who survived genocide; and Jewish schoolgirl Marilyn Greene, who spoke up for her Japanese friends after the attack on Pearl Harbor. California's diversity has often led to conflict, turmoil, and violence but also to invention, improvisation, and a struggle to achieve multicultural democracy.
A People's Guide to Orange County by Elaine Lewinnek; Gustavo Arellano; Thuy Vo DangOne of the Top Urban Planning Books of 2022, Planetizen The full and fascinating guidebook that Orange County deserves. A People's Guide to Orange County is an alternative tour guide that documents sites of oppression, resistance, struggle, and transformation in Orange County, California. Orange County is more than the well-known images on orange crate labels, the high-profile amusement parks of Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm, or the beaches. It is also a unique site of agricultural and suburban history, political conservatism in a liberal state, and more diversity and discordance than its pop-cultural images show. It is a space of important agricultural labor disputes, segregation and resistance to segregation, privatization and the struggle for public space, politicized religions, Cold War global migrations, vibrant youth cultures, and efforts for environmental justice. Memorably, Ronald Reagan called Orange County the place "where all the good Republicans go to die," but it is also the place where many working-class immigrants have come to live and work in its agricultural, military-industrial, and tourist service economies. Orange County is the fifth-most populous county in America. If it were a city, it would be the nation's third-largest city; if it were a state, its population would make it larger than twenty-one other states. It attracts 42 million tourists annually. Yet Orange County tends to be a chapter or two squeezed into guidebooks to Los Angeles or Disneyland. Mainstream guidebooks focus on Orange County's amusement parks and wealthy coastal communities, with side trips to palatial shopping malls. These guides skip over Orange County's most heterogeneous half--the inland space, where most of its oranges were grown alongside oil derricks that kept the orange groves heated. Existing guidebooks render invisible the diverse people who have labored there. A People's Guide to Orange County questions who gets to claim Orange County's image, exposing the extraordinary stories embedded in the ordinary landscape.
Comics Beyond the Page in Latin America by
Comics Beyond the Page in Latin America is a cutting-edge study of the expanding worlds of Latin American comics. Despite lack of funding and institutional support, not since the mid-twentieth century have comics in the region been so dynamic, so diverse and so engaged with pressing social and cultural issues. Comics are being used as essential tools in debates about digital cultures, gender identities, and political disenfranchisement, as well as a whole range of other social issues. Rather than analyzing the current boom in comics by focusing just on the printed text, however, this book looks at diverse manifestations of comics 'beyond the page'. Contributors look at digital comics and social media networks; comics as graffiti and stencil art in public spaces; comics as a tool for teaching architecture or processing social trauma; and comics consumption and publishing as forms of shaping national, social, and political identities.
A Latin American Existentialist Ethos: Modern Mexican Literature and Philosophy by
With their emphasis on freedom and engagement, European existentialisms offered Latin Americans transformative frameworks for thinking and writing about their own locales. In taking up these frameworks, Latin Americans endowed them with a distinctive ethos, a turn towards questions of identity and ethics. Stephanie Merrim situates major literary and philosophical works--by the existentialist Grupo Hiperión, Rosario Castellanos, Octavio Paz, José Revueltas, Juan Rulfo, and Rodolfo Usigli--within this dynamic context. Collectively, their writings manifest an existentialist ethos attuned to the matters most alive and pressing in their specific situations--matters linked to gender, Indigeneity, the Mexican Revolution, and post-Revolution politics. That each of these writers orchestrates a unique center of gravity renders Mexican existentialist literature an always shifting, always passionate adventure. A Latin American Existentialist Ethos takes readers on this adventure, conveying the passions of its subjects lucidly and vibrantly. It is at once a detailed portrait of twentieth-century Mexican existentialism and an expansive look at Latin American literary existentialism in relation--and opposition--to its European counterparts.
The Social and Political Life of Latin American Infrastructures by
Understanding Latin American identity, history, and politics through its infrastructure and architecture. From roads, railways, statues, and bridges, infrastructure provides a unique lens through which to view our own national histories and societies. Serving as an important conduit between individuals and the state, infrastructure can help mediate citizenship, reshape social relations between people both within and across communities, and has the capacity to underpin--or indeed, undermine--nation-building. Over the last century, infrastructure has transformed Latin America. Roads, railways, and airports have increased connectivity between spaces, peoples, and markets. Cables, switches, and tunnels have connected households to electricity grids, water systems, and digital technology. Public buildings, parks, and monuments have reshaped towns and cities and emerged as sites to construct and contest citizenship. Infrastructure has been welcomed and celebrated in Latin America, but it has also been resisted and destroyed. Based on recent, original research, the essays in this collection cover a range of pressing infrastructural considerations, including sustainability, water conflict, extractive mining, and public housing in Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Colombia, Ecuador, and Mexico to better understand how infrastructure has reshaped Latin America over the past century.
New World Objects of Knowledge: A Cabinet of Curiosities (Institute of Latin American Studies) by
A stunning, richly illustrated hardback cataloging key artifacts from across Latin American art, nature, and history. From the late fifteenth century to the present day, countless explorers, conquerors, and other agents of empire have laid siege to the New World, plundering and pilfering its most precious artifacts and treasures. Today, these natural and cultural products--which are key to conceptualizing a history of Latin America--are scattered in museums around the world. With contributions from a renowned set of scholars, New World Objects of Knowledge delves into the hidden histories of forty of the New World's most iconic artifacts, from the Inca mummy to Darwin's hummingbirds. This volume is richly illustrated with photos and sketches from the archives and museums hosting these objects. Each artifact is accompanied by a comprehensive essay covering its dynamic, often global, history and itinerary. This volume will be an indispensable catalog of New World objects and how they have helped shape our modern world.
Cultures of Anti-Racism in Latin America and the Caribbean by
Latin America's long history of showing how racism can co-exist with racial mixture and conviviality offers useful ammunition for strengthening anti-racist stances. This volume asks whether cultural production has a particular role to play within discourses and practices of anti-racism in Latin America and the Caribbean. The contributors analyse music, performance, education, language, film and art in diverse national contexts across the region. The book also places Latin American and Caribbean racial formations within a broader global context and sets out the premise that the region provides valuable opportunities for thinking about anti-racism when recent political events have made ever more fragile the claims that, at least in Europe and the United States, we exist in a 'post-racial' world.
Latin America in the Modern World by
Latin America in the Modern World is the first text to situate the history of Latin America within a wider global narrative. Written by leading scholars, the book focuses on five themes: state formation; the construction of national identity through popular culture and religion; economics andcommodities; race, class, and gender; and the environment. Emphasizing the distinct experiences of each of the Latin American countries, the book provides students with an entry point into understanding this vital region. Instead of suggesting that all Latin American nations have an interchangeableheritage, the authors seek to clearly identify themes, topics, people, and intellectual currents that help to knit the history of modern Latin America into a coherent category of study. While providing in-depth coverage of the history of the three largest Latin American countries (Mexico, Brazil,and Argentina), Latin America in the Modern World also offers case studies from almost all of the countries, including Central American and Andean nations.
Sandinistas: A Moral History by
Robert J. Sierakowski's Sandinistas: A Moral History offers a bold new perspective on the liberation movement that brought the Sandinista National Liberation Front to power in Nicaragua in 1979, overthrowing the longest-running dictatorship in Latin America. Unique sources, from trial transcripts to archival collections and oral histories, offer a new vantage point beyond geopolitics and ideologies to understand the central role that was played by everyday Nicaraguans. Focusing on the country's rural north, Sierakowski explores how a diverse coalition of labor unionists, student activists, housewives, and peasants inspired by Catholic liberation theology came to successfully challenge the legitimacy of the Somoza dictatorship and its entrenched networks of power. Mobilizing communities against the ubiquitous cantinas, gambling halls, and brothels, grassroots organizers exposed the regime's complicity in promoting social ills, disorder, and quotidian violence while helping to construct radical new visions of moral uplift and social renewal. Sierakowski similarly recasts our understanding of the Nicaraguan National Guard, grounding his study of the Somozas' army in the social and cultural world of the ordinary soldiers who enlisted and fought in defense of the dictatorship. As the military responded to growing opposition with heightened state terror and human rights violations, repression culminated in widespread civilian massacres, stories that are unearthed for the first time in this work. These atrocities further exposed the regime's moral breakdown in the eyes of the public, pushing thousands of previously unaligned Nicaraguans into the ranks of the guerrilla insurgency by the late 1970s. Sierakowski's innovative reinterpretation of the Sandinista Revolution will be of interest to students, scholars, and activists concerned with Latin American social movements, the Cold War, and human rights.
The Oxford Handbook of Gabriel García Márquez by
From the epic saga of the Buendia family in One Hundred Years of Solitude to the enduring passion of Love in the Time of Cholera to the exploration of tyranny in The Autumn of the Patriarch, Gabriel Garcia Marquez has built a literary world that continues to captivate millions of readersacross the world. His writings entrance modern audiences with their dreamlike yet trenchant insights into universal issues of the human condition such as love, revenge, old age, death, fate, power, and justice. A Nobel Laureate in 1982, he contributed to the global popularity of the Latin AmericanBoom during the second half of the 20th century and had a profound impact on writers worldwide, including Toni Morrison, Salman Rushdie, and Haruki Murakami. The Oxford Handbook of Gabriel Garcia Marquez brings together world experts on the Colombian writer to present a comprehensiveEnglish-language examination of his life, oeuvre, and legacy - the first such work since his death in 2014.Edited by Latin American literature authorities Gene H. Bell-Villada and Ignacio Lopez-Calvo, the volume paints a rich and nuanced portrait of "Gabo." It incorporates ongoing critical approaches such as feminism, ecocriticism, Marxism, and ethnic studies, while elucidating key aspects of his work,such as his Caribbean-Colombian background; his use of magical realism, myth, and folklore; and his left-wing political views. Thirty-two wide-ranging chapters cover the bulk of the author's writings-both major and minor, early and late, long and short-as well as his involvement with film. They alsodiscuss his unique prose style, highlighting how music shaped his literary art. The Handbook gives unprecedented attention to the global influence of Garcia Marquez-on established canons, on the Global South, on imaginative writing in South Asia, China, Japan, and throughout Africa and the Arabworld. This is the first book that places the Colombian writer within that wider context, celebrating his importance both as a Latin American author and as a global phenomenon.
California: An American History by
A concise and lively history of California, the most multicultural state in the nation "A masterful history."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Faragher takes the reader on a captivating journey through myriad twists and turns of California's multicultural history, enlivened by stories of people who rarely penetrate our traditional state chronicles."--Carlos E. Cortés, University of California, Riverside California is the most multicultural state in America. As John Mack Faragher explains in this new history, California's natural variety has always supported such diversity, including Native peoples speaking dozens of distinct languages, Spanish and Mexican colonists, gold seekers from all corners of the globe, and successive migrant waves from the eastern United States and from Europe, Latin America, Asia, and the Pacific Islands. Faragher tells the stories of a colorful cast of characters--some famous, others mostly unknown--including African American Archy Lee, who sued for his freedom; Sinkyone Indian woman Sally Bell, who survived genocide; and Jewish schoolgirl Marilyn Greene, who spoke up for her Japanese friends after the attack on Pearl Harbor. California's diversity has often led to conflict, turmoil, and violence but also to invention, improvisation, and a struggle to achieve multicultural democracy.
Traitor, Survivor, Icon: The Legacy of La Malinche by
The first major visual and cultural exploration of the legacy of La Malinche, simultaneously reviled as a traitor to her people and hailed as the mother of Mexico An enslaved Indigenous girl who became Hernán Cortés's interpreter and cultural translator, Malinche stood at center stage in one of the most significant events of modern history. Linguistically gifted, she played a key role in the transactions, negotiations, and conflicts between the Spanish and the Indigenous populations of Mexico that shaped the course of global politics for centuries to come. As mother to Cortés's firstborn son, she became the symbolic progenitor of a modern Mexican nation and a heroine to Chicana and Mexicana artists. Traitor, Survivor, Icon is the first major publication to present a comprehensive visual exploration of Malinche's enduring impact on communities living on both sides of the US-Mexico border. Five hundred years after her death, her image and legacy remain relevant to conversations around female empowerment, indigeneity, and national identity throughout the Americas. This lavish book establishes and examines her symbolic import and the ways in which artists, scholars, and activists through time have appropriated her image to interpret and express their own experiences and agendas from the 1500s through today.
A People's Guide to Orange County by
One of the Top Urban Planning Books of 2022, Planetizen The full and fascinating guidebook that Orange County deserves. A People's Guide to Orange County is an alternative tour guide that documents sites of oppression, resistance, struggle, and transformation in Orange County, California. Orange County is more than the well-known images on orange crate labels, the high-profile amusement parks of Disneyland and Knott's Berry Farm, or the beaches. It is also a unique site of agricultural and suburban history, political conservatism in a liberal state, and more diversity and discordance than its pop-cultural images show. It is a space of important agricultural labor disputes, segregation and resistance to segregation, privatization and the struggle for public space, politicized religions, Cold War global migrations, vibrant youth cultures, and efforts for environmental justice. Memorably, Ronald Reagan called Orange County the place "where all the good Republicans go to die," but it is also the place where many working-class immigrants have come to live and work in its agricultural, military-industrial, and tourist service economies. Orange County is the fifth-most populous county in America. If it were a city, it would be the nation's third-largest city; if it were a state, its population would make it larger than twenty-one other states. It attracts 42 million tourists annually. Yet Orange County tends to be a chapter or two squeezed into guidebooks to Los Angeles or Disneyland. Mainstream guidebooks focus on Orange County's amusement parks and wealthy coastal communities, with side trips to palatial shopping malls. These guides skip over Orange County's most heterogeneous half--the inland space, where most of its oranges were grown alongside oil derricks that kept the orange groves heated. Existing guidebooks render invisible the diverse people who have labored there. A People's Guide to Orange County questions who gets to claim Orange County's image, exposing the extraordinary stories embedded in the ordinary landscape.