LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Studies Library Resource Guide: Articles

Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles

LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCOhost)
Offers full-text scholarly and popular publications, primary sources, and a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus with thousands of terms.
SocIndex with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Contains 397 "core coverage" and 150 "priority coverage" sociology journals, 700+ books, and 6,000+ conference papers. Includes over 800 journal abstracts dating back to 1895. Covers all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of sociology.

JSTOR: LGBT
The LGBT collection contains 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States. The gay liberation movement of the 1970s saw political action explode through the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, the Human Rights Campaign, the election of openly gay and lesbian representatives, and the first march on Washington for gay rights in 1979. Frustrated with the male leadership of most gay liberation groups and influenced by the feminist movement of the 1970s, lesbians formed their own collectives, music festivals, newspapers, bookstores, and publishing houses and called for lesbian rights in mainstream feminist groups like the National Organization for Women (NOW).

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Offers 12,000+ scholarly journals and 6,000+ peer-reviewed titles. Covers a broad range of subjects including computer science, engineering, arts & literature, and medical sciences. Includes popular magazines.

MasterFile Complete (EBSCOhost)
Offers over 2,400 full-text magazines and journals, 850 reference books, and more than 73,000 primary source documents covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science. Includes image collections of photos, maps and flags.

U.S. Major Dailies (ProQuest)
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to five respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal, covering the 1980s to the present.