These biographical information sources will be helpful if you have chosen to write about a public figure for this section, such as an activist, artist, or politician.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) has a feature called "Person Search" on the homepage.
Once you have clicked on this feature, you are taken to a search page with very useful filters!
You can search by name if you already know who you want to write about, or enter parameters to browse and get ideas.
Provides literary analysis and biographical information on over 130,000 writers, including full-text literary criticism and reviews. Covers writers from all disciplines, time periods, and countries, useful for researchers in literature, history, arts, gender studies, and cultural studies.
A reference database with 100,000 fact-checked articles contributed by experts in various fields, including Nobel laureates, historians, and professors. It offers a balanced, global perspective for students.
Offers 20,000 articles, 2,500 images, 700 primary sources with commentaries, nearly 200 maps, biographies, and encyclopedias, all focused on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Search the library collection to see if we have a biography of your subject here.
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to five respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal, covering the 1980s to the present.
Offers over 2,400 full-text magazines and journals, 850 reference books, and more than 73,000 primary source documents covering general news, reference, business, health, education, general science. Includes image collections of photos, maps and flags.
SCC Library has many cookbooks that contain information about the roots of culinary cultures from around the world. Here is one example - search here to find more!
The Food of Oaxaca: Recipes and stories from Mexico's culinary capital by
IACP Cookbook Award Winner A groundbreaking cookbook celebrating the distinctive cuisine and culture of Oaxaca, from one of Mexico's most revered chefs. With a foreword by Enrique Olvera. In The Food of Oaxaca, acclaimed chef Alejandro Ruiz shares the cuisine of Mexico's culinary capital through fifty recipes both traditional and original. Divided into three parts, the book covers the classic dishes of the region, the cuisine of the coast, and the food Ruiz serves today at his beloved restaurant, Casa Oaxaca. Here are recipes for making your own tortillas, and for preparing tamales, salsas, and moles, as well as Ruiz's own creations, such as Duck Tacos with Coloradito; Shrimp, Nopal, Fava Bean, and Pea Soup; and Oaxacan Chocolate Mousse. Also included are thoughtful essays on dishes, ingredients, kitchen tools, and traditions; recommendations on where to eat; and a comprehensive glossary to help fully immerse readers in the food of Oaxaca, making this an indispensable volume for home cooks and travelers alike.
The Magic Words: Simple poetry prompts that unlock the creativity in everyone by
Discover the joy of expressing what's inside you, with fill-in-the-blank poems that are sparking a creative movement We all have stories inside us--whether or not we consider ourselves "creative." Poet and novelist Joseph Fasano has developed a remarkable tool that allows anyone to experience the joy of creative expression. The fifty simple yet powerful prompts in this book are poems that you complete yourself. By adding just a few words of your own, you create something beautiful and wholly new--that comes from within. Discover the magic of putting your feelings into words--and be inspired by sample poems submitted by people of all ages and walks of life. Exploring themes like friendship, love, grief, gratitude, and hope, these inclusive, accessible, and deceptively simple poems express powerful emotional truths--written by you.
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to five respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal, covering the 1980s to the present.