LibGuides: First-Generation College Student Resource Guide: SCC Resources

SCC Resources

SCC strives to help all first-generation college students navigate college and prepare to graduate or transfer. This page will help you better understand the resources available to you through SCC.

Educational Resources

From application to graduation or transfer, here are resources to help you plan and navigate your course and program requirements:

Admissions & Records
The A&R website includes information on how to apply, how to register for classes, free tuition for eligible students, self-service guides and more.
First Year Support Center (FYSC)
The FYSC provides step-by-step assistance with all college forms (i.e., admissions application, financial aid, CA Dream Act, etc.) and provides referrals to all instructional and student support services so students can take advantage of everything SCC offers.
Academic Counseling
The SCC Counseling & Career Development Department is now offering a wide array of counseling services in-person and on-campus in room D-106. This includes full counseling appointments and drop-in counseling.
University Guarantees / Agreements
This page has a list of institutions that provide either guaranteed admissions, priority consideration for admissions, and/or tuition discounts.
Financial Aid Office
The Financial Aid Office supports the mission and vision of SCC Student Services by promoting the growth and development of students and contributing to student learning with our student-centered approach.
SCC Promise Scholarship
The SCC Promise Scholarship helps first-time college students complete their associate degree, transfer requirements, or workforce certificate(s) by accelerating paths to achieve success.
SCC Scholarship Portal
SCC offers scholarships to incoming first-year students, current students, and students ready to transfer thanks to the generous support of the SCC Foundation Office and donors. Students can explore the scholarships offered at SCC, learn about scholarship criteria, and find information on the application timelines on the SCC Scholarship Portal.
Transfer Success Center
The Transfer Success Center supports and guides students through the four-year university transfer process. We aim to empower all students in achieving their transfer goals. Programs, services, and resources are provided to give comprehensive transfer information which will help students prepare for successful admission and transition to four-year institutions.
Graduation Office
This site contains everything you need to know about graduation and commencement, including important dates.

Tutoring & Academic Success Resources

Here are in-person and online resources to help you succeed in your courses:

Language Lab
Provides students with a variety of ways to enhance and complement their classroom language learning experience.
Math Success Center
Provides students with math assistance and supplemental learning.
Online Tutoring
Provides online tutoring in a variety of subjects through NetTutor.
Reading Program
Helps students develop reading fluency and strategies.
STAR Center
Provides academic support for students in science courses.
STEM Academy
Provides academic support for students pursuing majors, degrees, and careers in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM).
Student Help Desk
Provides peer and Canvas technology support.
Writing Center
Assists students in their study, practice, and communication of English.

Career Resources

Here are resources to help you explore, plan, and work toward your future career:

Career & Academic Pathways
SCC Pathways is here to help you find the right program. Degrees and certificates have been grouped together based on Interest Areas, and program maps have been developed to help you easily understand a clear path towards achieving your goal.
Career Counseling
Career Counseling assists students with career exploration and assistance choosing a major, linking college majors and training programs that meet individual student needs. They also offer job preparation services including job search skills, resume and cover letter writing and networking and interviewing techniques.
Hawk's Nest/Market
The Hawk's Nest/Market recently launched Hawk’s Closet, a career closet where they give free donated professional clothing. All you need to do is schedule an appointment to shop.

Finding Community & Support on Campus

Navigating college can be a unique journey, depending on your personal experiences and situation. Building a sense of belonging is essential, and connecting with campus clubs and organizations can provide valuable support and community. This section highlights various resources that cater to a wide range of interests and backgrounds, helping you discover opportunities to engage with peers, share experiences, and enhance your college experience. Whether you’re looking to explore cultural clubs, social organizations, or academic groups, there’s a place for you to connect and thrive.

B.L.A.C.K.
The Black Legacy Achievement Center of Knowledge provides students with a myriad of support systems that buttress what they have in place, and contribute where support in their lives may be scarce. Through academic counseling, social interaction with other students and SCC professionals, students will recognize the value of their experiences and the legacy gifted to them by their ancestors.
Applies to: all students of color
California Work Opportunity and Responsibility to Kids (CalWORKs)
Provides services including academic and personal counseling/case management, vocational training, job placement services and student support services.
Applies to: students who are receiving cash aid or TANF (Temporary Aid to Needy Families) from the Orange County Social Services Department
Campus Clubs
Students are encouraged to participate in campus clubs and organizations. Clubs provide networking for students in academic, special interest and social programs. The club program is an ever-growing phase of the college scene with new clubs appearing each year.
Applies to: all students
College Assistance Migrant Program (CAMP)
CAMP is a federally funded program authorized under Section 418A of Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 and its purpose is to serve freshmen students or those who have completed less than 24 college credits and come from migrant and seasonal farm working backgrounds. Eligible students receive a variety of services, which include academic assistance, career planning services, and educational support.
Application required.
Applies to: current migrant or seasonal farm workers, or dependents of migrant or seasonal farm workers or those who have participated in or are eligible for the MEP program (see eligibility requirements on the CAMP website for more details)
Cooperative Agencies Resources for Education (CARE)
Through EOPS. Provide single parents receiving public assistance (AFDC/TANF, or CalWorks) additional support and services while attending college to foster economic self-sufficiency and reduce welfare dependency.
Application required.
Applies to: students who qualify for EOPS and meet eligibility requirements for CARE (see eligibility requirements on the CARE website for more details)
Dreamers
SCC ensures that all students, regardless of immigration status, have access and support as they continue their education and make a better life for themselves and their families. SCC wants its Dreamers/Undocumented students to know that we stand with you and will always support your efforts 100%. Find resources for Dreamers/undocumented students on the Dreamers website.
Applies to: all qualified undocumented students pursuant to California Assembly Bill 540 (AB 540)
Extended Opportunity Programs & Services (EOPS)
a state funded program which provides special support services to students who are first in their family to attend college who have educational and financial challenges. The ultimate goal of the program is to provide the opportunity and support necessary for each student to undertake and complete an education at Santiago Canyon College.
Application required.
Applies to: students who qualify for the CCPG (California College Promise Grant Method A or B) and are California residents or AB540 eligible (see eligibility requirements on the EOPS website for more details)
Guardian Scholars
Guardian Scholars is a program committed to supporting ambitious, college bound students exiting the foster care system. The program is integral to the success of the student, and is designed to provide a level of support and networking that is critically needed for this special population, to ensure that full advantage is taken of college life, both inside and outside the classroom.
Application required.
Applies to: former foster youth age 17+ (or who are legally emancipated, if still a minor) who are currently or formerly a ward of the court foster youth (see eligibility requirements on the Guardian Scholars website for more details)
NextUP
NextUp provides participating current and former foster youth with support and resources while attending a California community college, including resources that make a difference. The program offers eligible current and former foster youth support and services that could include help with books and supplies, transportation, tutoring, food and emergency housing.
Applies to: current and former foster youth
Office of Student Equity & Success
The Office of Student Equity and Success serves as a campus resource for faculty, staff, students, and administrators to learn more about the students that are disproportionately impacted by barriers outside of their control, and to develop programs and activities designed to reduce the achievement gap for these students at SCC.
Applies to: all students
Rising Scholars
Finish Your Education. Get Job Training. Receive Counseling & Support. Rising Scholars can help the formerly incarcerated/justice impacted transition back to school and into the community. This program is 100% free to anyone living in California.
Applies to: formerly incarcerated/justice impacted students
Student Health & Wellness Services
If you are currently enrolled in SCC credit classes and have paid the mandatory Health Fee, you have access to free and low-cost health and wellness care to help you get healthy and stay healthy.
Applies to: all students
Student Support Services TRiO (SSS-TRiO)
SSS-TRiO provides holistic and comprehensive services in order to help students successfully reach their academic goals. Our mission is to increase college retention, graduation rates, and help students make the transition from one level of higher education to the next. Includes separate program services designed for veterans and future teachers.
Application required.
Applies to: disabled, first-generation, and/or low-income students pursuant to Federal TRiO requirements (see eligibility requirements on the TRiO website for more details)
Umoja
The Umoja Program is a statewide community network of resources and educators, who are “committed to the personal growth and self –actualization of African American and other students". Students here at SCC will benefit from services and programs like; advising, counseling, books, learning communities, program space, food, workshops, and much more. SCC's Umoja program is a community gathering space for African American / Black, and other students to come together to honor and celebrate Black Excellence, and to discuss the real issues that affect students and the broad African American / Black community.
Application required.
Applies to: African American and other students
Veterans Resource Center
The Veterans Resource Center (VRC) was created to assist veteran students as they transition from military life to student life. Veterans, Active Duty, Reservists, and their dependents/spouses are provided access to their VA education benefits to assist them with successfully meeting their educational goals.
Application/enrollment required.
Applies to: Veterans, Active Duty, Reservists, and their dependents/spouses (see eligibility requirements on the VRC website for more details)