Research Strategies: Finding Your Way Through the Information Fog by
Everyone does research. Some just do it better than others. In this chaotic world of information and misinformation, referred to as "information fog," university students, in particular, need to learn how to conduct research effectively. Good research is about a quest to discover more, about a burning desire to solve society's problems and make a better world. Ultimately, research is a way forward to a resolution of life's greatest difficulties. In this seventh edition of Research Strategies: Finding Your Way through the Information Fog, author William Badke walks you step by step through the entire research process--from choosing a topic, to writing the final project, and everything in between.A seasoned researcher and educator, Badke offers tried-and-true tips, tricks, and strategies to help you identify a problem, acquire pertinent information, and use that information to address the problem. Employing a host of examples and humor, Research Strategies: Finding Your Way through the Information Fog shows how research can be exciting and fun.
Librarian's Guide to Online Searching by
Updates the premier textbook for students and librarians needing to know the landscape of current databases and how to search them. Librarians need to know of existing databases, and they must be able to teach search capabilities and strategies to library users. This practical guide introduces librarians to a broad spectrum of fee-based and freely available databases and explains how to teach them. The updated 6th edition of this well-regarded text covers new databases on the market as well as updates to older databases. It also explains underlying information structures and demonstrates how to search most effectively. It introduces readers to several recent changes, such as the move away from metadata-based indexing to full text indexing by vendors covering newspaper content. Business databases receive greater emphasis. As in the previous editions, this book takes a real-world approach, covering topics from basic and advanced search tools to online subject databases. Each chapter includes a thorough discussion, a recap, concrete examples, exercises, and points to consider, making it an ideal text for courses in database searching as well as a trustworthy professional resource. Helps librarians and students understand the latest developments in library databases Looks not only at textual databases but also numerical, image, video, and social media resources Includes changes and trends in database functionality since the 5th edition
SCC OneSearch, the library's discovery system, contains most of the resources the library subscribes to - you can enter a search term here to find articles, books, e-books, course reserve materials, and more.
You want to cast a wide net to see what you might catch.
To narrow your search (by, for example, online availability, publication date, or subject) you can use the "refine my results" options listed along the left-hand side of the page. Filter by whether the item is available online or a physical object; whether it is peer-reviewed; whether it is an article, a book, a review, or something else; when it was published; subjects covered in it; and more.
You can also filter by format, type, or location using the drop-down menu at the right side of the search box.
Access SCC OneSearch here, or via this search box:
This is a list of all our databases, organized alphabetically.
You only want results from a specific subject area; or you know that you are looking for database results that are not included in SCC OneSearch at this time (Bloom's Literature, Kanopy, Swank).
You can filter this list of databases by subject, database type, or vendor.
Open-access content from across the web; some of the same scholarly books and articles available via SCC OneSearch and A-Z Databases.
The interface of Google Scholar is similar to that of Google, which is familiar to most people and makes it a convenient starting place.
You have the option to set a publication date range, and include or exclude patents and citations, but that's it.
Once you are at scholar.google.com, click on the hamburger menu to to go Settings. Within Settings, click on "Library links" and enter "Santiago Canyon College" into the search box. Check the two results that appear (Santiago Canyon College - View Full Text and SANTIAGO CANYON COLLEGE - ProQuest Fulltext) and hit Save.
We are in the process of building our collection of research guides. As we do, there will be guides for specific courses as well as fields of study. These will contain links to resources that are "best bets" for that course or subject area.